Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Accessibility Working Group (AWG)

The Accessibility Working Group was established at Ontario Tech University in September 2010 with the intent of creating a campus that is inclusive and barrier-free to all individuals with disabilities. In response to the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, and eventually the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, which mandated accessibility planning province-wide, the Accessibility Working Group published its first Multi-Year Accessibility Plan. The objective of this foundational plan was to establish the university’s commitment towards developing and maintaining a study and work environment that is inclusive and facilitates the full participation of all students and employees with disabilities in all aspects of the university. 


Ex-Officio Members

Shay Babb (Chair), Compliance Risk & Ethics, Manager, or delegate 
Julie Day (Vice Chair), Health and Disability Management Specialist, Human Resources, or delegate 
Andrew Sunstrum, Director, Human Rights Office, Office of the University Secretary and General Counsel, or delegate
Stephanie Cork, Manager, Student Accessibility Services, Office of Student Life, or delegate
Susan Forbes, Manager, Teaching & Learning Centre, Office of Learning Innovation, or delegate
On a bi-annual basis, a Chair will be chosen from the ex-officio membership, by the ex-officio members.
Each academic year, a Vice-Chair will be chosen from the ex-officio members by the Chair.

Appointed Members

Chris Woods, Manager, Digital and User Experience, Communications and Marketing, or delegate
Marie Harvey, Social Media Coordinator, Communications & Marketing, or delegate
Ken Bright, Director, Office of Campus Infrastructure and Sustainability, or delegate
Mhairy McLachlan, Manager, Information and Client Services, Office of the Registrar, or delegate
Jeanette Oliveira, One (1) representative from Teaching & Learning Centre, Office of Learning Innovation
Aleksandra Vojnov, Assistive Technology Specialist, Student Accessibility Services, Office of Student Life
Joshua Sankarlal, President, Ontario Tech Student Union (OTSU), or delegate
Emily Tufts, Associate University Librarian, Scholarly Resources, Campus Library, or delegate
Director, Equity, Diversity & Inclusion, Office of the Provost, or delegate
     (Delegate: Eva Bosnjak, Equity, Diversity & Inclusion Coordinator, Office of the Provost)
Dan Crouse, Director, Academic Advising, Office of the Deputy Provost or delegate
Christine Cairns, One (1) representative from Information Technology Services
Kaitlynn Gambier, One (1) representative from the Office of Research Services
Scott Barker, Director, Ontario Tech Athletics or delegate
Accessibility Working Group’s terms of reference

Statement of Commitment

Ontario Tech University is committed to creating a campus community that is inclusive of all individuals and ensures equal opportunity among its members to achieve success in their academic and/or employment endeavours. The university recognizes that successful learning and employment outcomes are the result of a shared responsibility and commitment on the part of students, faculty and staff, and expects that all members of the community will advance the ongoing development of an environment that is accessible and inclusive, while actively working to identify, remove and prevent barriers to persons with disabilities up to the point of undue hardship.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)